Salute to Congress



The International Propeller Club in 2018, recognized the leadership of The Honorable Rob Wittman, (Virginia–1st) with its 34th annual Salute to Congress award at a May 16, 2018, reception and dinner. The Chairman of the House Subcommittee on Seapower and Projection Forces, Mr. Wittman has been an advocate for a strong domestic maritime industry throughout his service in Congress.

Since its inception, the Salute has recognized one legislator each year for his or her efforts on behalf of the maritime industry, and by extension, is intended to thank all Members of Congress for their support of an industry that is critical to the nation's economy and security.

For more on Chairman Wittman's leadership on maritime issues, read our news story published at the time the award was announced.  

Photos and video from last year's event:  A gallery of photos from the 2018 Salute can be seen on this site or on Facebook. provided coverage of the event, including Chairman Wittman's remarks, which can be viewed on their website.

History of the Salute: You can see a list of past recipients of the Salute to Congress Award here.

The Honorable Rob Wittman (right), receives the 2018 Salute to Congress award from International Propeller Club President Rear Adm. Joel Whitehead, USCG (retired).